Emo Picnic

I recently went up to Emo Estate for a picnic with the kids whilst their Mammy was in work. The in laws and two cousins came along. It was a gorgeous day and plenty of others had the same idea. It must be almost two years since I was last up here and you can read my previous post on the history of the Emo Estate Here. Well it has been a long time since I have done some proper shots with the kids aside from the standard snaps you might take on holidays and birthdays etc. I think that the last time I did some shots with my kids was at Christmas, for their Christmas card picture, which you can see Here. So with my three and the two cousins ready to pose, I had no excuses.

It is said that a photographer should never work with animals or children and sometimes I can agree. My youngest, Dylan certainly has a mind of his own and as you can see tends to do his own thing at times. Patience is an absolute must, and whilst I didn’t quite get the results I was looking for, these shots were not bad considering I am used to shooting mostly ruins these days. I also got to put my new polarizing filter to the test. I must say it works really well on a bright sunny day. My only issue with it is that I am constantly forgetting that its on my lense, and end up having to adjust.

For these and more of my images, why not visit myย Website

About edmooneyphotography

Photographer, Blogger, Ruinhunter, with an unhealthy obsession for history, mythology and the arcane.
This entry was posted in Landscape, People, Photography, Places of Interest, Portraits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Emo Picnic

  1. Mikels Skele says:

    The very definition of Irish!

  2. Beautiful kids and very good shots. Thanks for sharing.
    Irene

  3. great shots! The boy in the middle has a shirt that reflects his expression so perfectly, and wouldja look at that red hair, spectacular! Great salute to childhood’s joys

  4. Red Hen says:

    Terrific shots. The kids are so colourful and gorgeous. Perfect background.

  5. LB says:

    fun, fun, fun!

  6. Pieces of 8 says:

    I was definitely expecting a lot of black-clad teens with bad eye make-up when I clicked on this link! Lovely pictures.

  7. Creativ(e) Photography - Made in Germany says:

    It is sometimes difficult to work with children.
    But, it makes a lot of fun,because children can be very creative.
    Your images are really good. Simply naturally. Good job

Leave a Reply

