Harristown Church

Harristown (1)

It’s been a quite month for ruin hunting, so yesterday whilst dropping my nephew back up to Dublin I seized the opportunity to stop of at a few sites en route. The first site we encountered was the old ruins of a medieval church in the townland of Harristown. Unfortunately I made a fatal error, as I had not checked my batteries. So I had a camera with no power, even the backup set I use were dead. As you could imagine I was kicking myself, and Scott & Ryan were disappointed that there would be no adventure for the afternoon. I was just about to leave for Dublin, when I decided to give the site a once over with the camera on my smart phone. It’s a HTC1 with a 4 Ultra pixel camera, and takes a good shot, but obviously has certain limitations.

Harristown (2)

Harristown (5)

Harristown (4)

Harristown (3)

The ruins of the church in Harristown can be found up a very narrow country lane. It’s your typical limestone rectangular structure of the time which has become overgrown with Ivy. Resting in the middle of a rectangular shaped cemetery, with a gated wall to the front. The other three boundaries consist of bushes which separate the site from the surrounding pasture lands. On entering the site there are a variety of mixed grave markers from Celtic, metal cross, kerbed, table and single markers, both surrounding and inside the church walls. Whilst burials seem to have taken place here between the 18th – 21st centuries, the majority seem to be from the 19th-20th century.

Harristown (6)

Harristown (7)

Harristown (8)

Harristown (9)

Facing the enterance gate on the outside of the west gable lays a fenced plot which dates from the 19th century. The remains of an arched enterance can be found in the south wall, with the east wall completely gone with a decent part of the North wall missing. Interestingly the remains of granite basin what can only be described as an early baptism font has survived  over the years and can be found in the center of the church ruins. The grounds although uneven appear to be well kept and the runs are rather tranquil with the exception of the odd noise from farm animals in the distance.

Harristown (10)

Harristown (11)

Harristown (12)

Harristown (13)

For these and more of my images, why not visit my Website or join me on Facebook or Twitter.

About edmooneyphotography

Photographer, Blogger, Ruinhunter, with an unhealthy obsession for history, mythology and the arcane.
This entry was posted in Diary of a Ruinhunter, Medieval, Photography, Religious Sites, Ruins and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Harristown Church

  1. archecotech says:

    The odd noises could be coming from the afterworld too! Great post. Kind of like “Tales of the Crypt”.
    So when are you going to produce a book on all the sites that you have photographed?

    • LOL, Im thinking about a book in the future, just not yet, there are far to many places I want to shoot before I go down that road, 🙂

      • archecotech says:

        Ed, when you do I’ll be the first one to buy a copy (a signed copy that is) Cheers. I suspect that if you were to ask the rest of your readers they would go crazy wanting a copy also.

        • Gee I hope so, I have had some images used in others books but never one of my own. There is alot involved in getting a book published. You can either do it along via an ebook, which im not a huge fan of or try to get a publisher to come on board. Then there is the pay for everything yourself. We recently had a guest at our local camera club who did this. Putting a book together is the easy part, its dealing with printers and promoting it that is the hard bit.
          Hopefully in a year or two, ill get moving on it. Ill stick your name down on the guest list for its launch shall I? 🙂

  2. cari365 says:

    Stunning, I definitely can see the ‘Tales of the Crypt’, also feels like you a getting a glimpse into a secret world. Love them Ed 🙂

  3. Beautiful! as always…man, I have to come see your country…so much history…

  4. iosatel says:

    Great series, excellent works!

  5. so lovely I find it amazing how grave yards always look stunning in black & white as if color would not do them justice! Lovely collection!

  6. seaangel4444 says:

    Very cool, Ed!! I love your work! Cher xo

  7. Ali Isaac says:

    Ed, I can’t believe you took these images on your PHONE??? Or did I read that wrong? They’re stunning, as always. BTW, get yourself a Samsung S4…it has a great camera on it for snapshots!

    • NO your right Ali,
      All on my HTC1, Not a lover of Samsung, Would love an iPhone but I hate iTunes so that’s out of the question.
      I was just trying to figure out that Celtic knot you posted?
      Haven’t seen one quite like it yet?

      • Ali Isaac says:

        It just goes to show the talent lies with the person behind the camera, not the camera itself! I’m not keen on Iphones either, but I must admit I do love my Samsung. I will reveal all with the Celtic Knot shortly…

  8. Amazing the results you can get from a phone camera – of course it helps to have a good subject and to know what you are doing ‘:-) Good shots Ed!

    • Yeah modern tech can help, but I wont be putting my DSLR into retirement anytime soon. This was an emergency situation brought about by a sudden attack of stupidity on my behalf.
      I know a camera is only a tool but I still think that some tools are better than others. The light was really bad yesterday with little to no detail, so I really had to push the images to get something out of them

      Anyway, lesson learned. Dont leave home without checking your batteries and your spares 🙂

  9. Preeti says:

    Such a dramatic lighting effect..I never get such finishes in my B&W photographs…beautiful!

  10. sueslaght says:

    Thank heavens for Smartphones! Great photos by my eye and Tales of the Crypt to be sure. I appreciated you stopping by my blog. Thank you 🙂

  11. acuriousgal says:

    Good thing you had your phone, I hate when I run out of batteries!! Great spot to get lost in, wonderful ruins. Just perfect in bnw!

  12. hobo hippie says:

    Hauntingly beautiful

  13. Great pictures….glad you had your smart phone!

  14. Thank you for liking “Antarctica.” I enjoyed looking at these shots of the church ruins. The bricks and ivy and broken grave markers are full of history and have visually interesting textures and patterns. I am surprised by the quality of camera phone pictures these days. I read another post with pictures taken on an iPhone 5, and they were amazingly good.

    Please do not be too hard on yourself for not checking your camera battery or the backup batteries. It is easy to forget to do these things, especially if you are busy or in a rush to get somewhere.

    I look forward to seeing more of your great photos. 🙂

  15. Pingback: My Photoblog Adventure 2014, A year in review Part 1 | EdMooneyPhotography

Leave a Reply

