Re-work Wednesday 6

Kilteel Castle-6web

Finally I am  back on track for Re-work Wednesday. This week we are re-visiting the ruins of Kilteel Castle, which I first shot back in 2012. You can read more about the history of the Castle and view the original series of shots HERE.

Kilteel was a former Geraldine stronghold built in the thirteenth century by Maurice Fitzgerald for the Knights Hospitallers of St. John of Jerusalem. The site upon which the castle was built was once a monastic settlement. It was a bright sunny afternoon when I first shot this image so unfortunately there was little detail available in the sky. That aside I still like the mono version. As with most of the sites I now visit, I tend to shoot them exclusively in B&W as I think the lack of colour not only brings out more detail in the structures, but also adds a certain mood or atmosphere which suits these places perfectly.

So that’s it for this weeks Re-work, hopefully to see I will be back on track and see you all next Wednesday for another image taken from the archives.

For these and more of my images, why not visit my Website or join me on Facebook or Twitter.

About edmooneyphotography

Photographer, Blogger, Ruinhunter, with an unhealthy obsession for history, mythology and the arcane.
This entry was posted in Castles, Diary of a Ruinhunter, Historical, Medieval, Photography, Places of Interest, Re-work Wednesday, Ruins and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Re-work Wednesday 6

  1. Certainly B&W tends to work for these accent structures for so many reasons – not the least of which is that there is an implied modernity in color. I’m wondering, as you go back, do you find you are doing the same things to your reworks? I’m just wondering what may have changed in you as your have perfected your processing skills. Good week to you Ed!

    • Hi Rob, with the old images,which were mediocre in my mind, I tidy up the exposure, a little levels adjustment, then de-saturate and add a vignette. Thats pretty much my workflow at present.

      I have been trying to experiment with using the IR feature in CS, but I’m not happy with the results so far. Not to be defeated I’ll keep trying until I get the hang of it or get my D40 converted.

      I just got my hands on Silver Effex Pro, which I hope to start using soon, 🙂

      • Ed,
        You can try in PS with a base image in B&W – then duplicate the layer 2x – tag one as glow the other as noise.
        For glow layer adjust it to have a lot of contrast then give it a health dose of Gaussian blur. For the noise layer add a lot of noise – then use different blend modes and opacity in your layers to get the IR look to things. Trial and error to be sure but it does give a good faux IR look. Enjoy!

  2. Keep up the great work…I love what you are doing. You are the King of RuinHunters!

  3. seaangel4444 says:

    I love this photo! Brilliant, Ed! Cher xo

  4. I can never get enough of castles. Lovely scene, Ed. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Leave a Reply

