Oscar Wilde……. Monochrome Madness Challenge

Oscar Wilde

I was wondering what to do for this weeks challenge, and then inspiration hit me. Whilst on the Easter Egg Trail in Merrion Square Park on Saturday with the family, I came across this rather striking statue of the famous Irish writer Oscar Wilde. Wilde was quite popular with the upper classes of the time, entertaining them with his wit and conversation. However a failed libel case resulted in his homosexuality being made public followed by a prison sentence.

The statue which was commissioned by the Guinness group was sculpted by Danny Osbourne and took almost two and a half years to complete. It shows Wilde reclining on a huge granite rock as if he hadn’t a care in the world. As it happens it also faces in the direction of his former residence at no 1 Merrion square where he lived from 1855 – 1876. It is also know to be fondly referred to as the ‘Fag on the Crag’, by local Dubliner’s. The shot was taken in colour and converted to Mono in CS6, with a little vignette for good measure.

So why not head on over to Leanne Cole’s blog later on today where you can check out the rest of this weeks fantastic images.

For these and more of my images, why not visit my Website or join me on Facebook or Twitter.

About edmooneyphotography

Photographer, Blogger, Ruinhunter, with an unhealthy obsession for history, mythology and the arcane.
This entry was posted in People, Photography, Places of Interest, Street Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Oscar Wilde……. Monochrome Madness Challenge

  1. lauramacky says:

    Nice shot! I’ve never seen that before. Beautiful!

  2. colleenldonnelly says:

    I love Oscar Wilde’s work! Thank you for introducing me to this statue!

  3. Rajiv says:

    This is a cool statue. He looks really cool! btw, I am into the Monochrome Madness Challenge as well, thanks to you!! 😉
    And, I did start my new monochrome blog

  4. Hey ed, nice perspective! Cheers!

  5. fashissm says:

    thanks for the posts lately ed they’ve been great and very informative

  6. one of my favourite writers! great photo and wonderful sculpture. I saw his tomb in Paris and have a photo of it. They had to encase it in glass for protection because people left lipstick kisses all over it!!! He probably would have laughed.

  7. Elina says:

    This is a wonderful statue of Oscar Wilde. Your photo is great Ed, I love the perspective!

  8. Robyn G says:

    Loved this when I saw it on MMC Ed!

  9. themofman says:

    Wasn’t there speculation that he was also a pedophile?

Leave a Reply

