Re-work Wednesday 16

Countess Erzebeth Bathory…….

Elizabeth Bathory.

This week I was looking through images from last year when I covered the Bram Stoker Festival in Dublin. So I chose this image from the performance of Countess Dracula by the captivating ‘Angels of the Odd. Featuring the stunning Lucy Rhinehart as Bathory and  narrated by the brilliant Paddy Walsh, whom played the part of the tortured Bram Stoker. It recounted an imaginary connection between Stoker and the Blood Countess Erzebet Bathory, whom appears to him in a sleepless dream state. Here the countess acts as muse and inspiration for Stoker to weave the myth of Dracula. As the performance progresses, Stoker realizes that in order to finish his novel he must rid himself of his demon muse in the same way that Bathory came to an end in real life. By being bricked into her room. I found the performance to be a novel mix between two epic Vampire tales. And  the haunting background music played on a banjo only added to the mood. If you ever get a chance to see Angels of the Odd perform, I would highly recommend that you do so.

Stokers Muse (6)

I really liked the original shots, but just wanted to try something different with them. After a couple of different variations in  mono and sepia, I eventually ended up with an image I liked, and added the color back into the lips and eye’s for dramatic effect. And so ends another Re-work, hopefully you are enjoying the re-worked image and I will see you all next Wednesday for another image taken from the archives. If anyone has a favorite image which they would like to see next Wednesday, then get in touch or drop me a line, I would love to hear from you :-)

For these and more of my images, why not visit my Website or join me on Facebook or Twitter.

 

About edmooneyphotography

Photographer, Blogger, Ruinhunter, with an unhealthy obsession for history, mythology and the arcane.
This entry was posted in Events, People, Photography, Portraits, Re-work Wednesday, Street Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Re-work Wednesday 16

  1. Rajiv says:

    I like it… She does look gory

  2. colonialist says:

    Aaaaargh! *flees in terror*
    The first one sets the mood best, methinks.

  3. Indeed; the re-worked picture is not only more powerful but ‘adds value’ to the story behind!!!

  4. wonderful photo – and story!!

  5. Pingback: Re-work Wednesday 16 | edmooneyphotography

Leave a Reply

