The Big Gun – Monochrome Madness Challenge

Big Gun

This week I was supposed to head over to Camp Curragh in Kildare to check out Óenach. Its an open day on the Camp with the Irish Defence Forces. Sadly there was some bad news earlier in the week and I missed out on going. So in honour of our armed forces I chose this image I took at a recent Military show for this weeks Monochrome Madness Challenge. If memory serves me correctly this is an Maschinengewehr 34, or MG 34. It came into use with the German Army, prior to WWII. And with a rate of fire of between 800-900 rounds a minute it would give even the most sophisticated DLSR a run for its money. How many Cameras can sustain that rate?This was one of those shots were you just have to get down n dirty. Taken lying on my front, just a few feet from the gun, to get the perspective. Editing was very basic here, with a slight levels adjustment and conversion to mono. So that’s it for this weeks contribution, you can as always check out the rest of this weeks MMC images which will go live some time later today over on Leanne Cole’s Blog, depending on your time zone. Each week you will find a stunning collection of Monochrome images from around the world, so I would highly recommend that you check it out.

To see more of these images, why not visit my Website or join me on Facebook or Twitter.

About edmooneyphotography

Photographer, Blogger, Ruinhunter, with an unhealthy obsession for history, mythology and the arcane.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Big Gun – Monochrome Madness Challenge

  1. Rajiv says:

    Nice, vintage feel to this

  2. richwebbi says:

    Powerful pic Ed.

  3. Good challenge image Ed – yes, not every shot needs to be taken at eye level – the best images often come from getting down low or choosing a different perspective.

    • Thanks Robert, it was something I learned by accident. Out on a ruinhunt one day, I was trying to frame a shot and I slipped face down in the mud ) dont worry I saved the camera instead of myself).
      When I looked up I had the perfect view and as I was already covered in muck, I stayed on the ground long enough to get the shot.
      These days I always wear a knee guard and bring a little fold out ground sheet should the need arise. 🙂

Leave a Reply

