Dolmain Chnoc an Bhrúnaigh – Monochrome Madness Challenge

Browneshill Dolmen

For this weeks Monochrome Challenge over on Leanne Cole’s Blog, I  picked an image which as it happens, was origionaly posted on this very day one year ago. As It happened, I had taken a road trip down to Carlow on a secret mission for Santa with my eldest son Ryan and nephew Scott. On the way home I spotted a sign for the magificent Kernanstown Dolmen or Browneshill Dolmen as it is now commonly known; and so we all agreed to stop off and have a look around. This was one of those occasions that I was sure glad that I never leave home without my camera bag. :-)You can check out the original shots and read about this massive Neolithic Portal Tomb by clicking HERE.

Sadly the sky in these shots was rather bland and even my mad wizard skills could not bring out any detail of worth, so for the first time ever I tried my hand at inserting a sky into the image. Suprisingly, this was easier than I thought it would be. I used an image with the two boys to give an idea of how big this ancient structure actually is. The image first prossed in CS6 as I am still trying to move all my plugins over to CC. I used a nice red filter on the sky before converted in Silver Efex with an increase in structure.

The rest of this week’s images for the Monochrome Madness Challenge will go live on Leanne Cole’s blog later today. Each week there is a vast collection of contributors from around the world with some fantastic Black and White Photography.  I highly recommend that you head on over to where you can either contribute your own B&W images or view the images from this week’s challenge.

For these and more of my images, why not visit my Website or join me on Facebook or Twitter.

About edmooneyphotography

Photographer, Blogger, Ruinhunter, with an unhealthy obsession for history, mythology and the arcane.
This entry was posted in Monochrome Madness Challenge, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Dolmain Chnoc an Bhrúnaigh – Monochrome Madness Challenge

  1. belshade says:

    Great. The kids give it scale. Were they impressed? Des.

  2. Ali Isaac says:

    Ed this is an absolutely wonderful image of this famous monument! I’d say your wizarding skills really worked rather well!

  3. Great shot, Ed. Again, compelling subject presented with interesting history. The kids look like they are enjoying it.

  4. I love these tombs Ed. Great image!!

  5. lauramacky says:

    Woah those are some huge stones!!!

  6. Jewels says:

    This is a great shot, Ed! Having your boys there really shows off the size of those massive stones.

Leave a Reply

