A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words.

Earlier in the year, I watched a really cool documentary about this street photographer from New York. They followed her around for the day where she spoke about her work and showed what she claimed was a typical day for her. I thought it was really cool and enjoyed how she interacted with people. Me, well I’m a big angry 160kg powerlifter and probably not that sociable, but I did think at the time that I would like to try this sometime, take me out of my comfort zone and try something new. That is how we grow as people after all.

Then a few weeks ago, out of the blue, I got a chance. I had just purchased a Nikon D3100 body to add to my kid, (the price was too good to turn down). Then I happened across one of the camera stores in the city centre, were I spied a second-hand Nikon AF-S35mm F1.8G DX. I’d really love to add a nifty fifty, (50mm prime) too my kit, but I just haven’t found the right one yet. So, there I am on a Friday afternoon in town with a new camera and lense, so I had to test them out.

On this occasion, I took a stroll up along the south quat of the Liffey, just exploring and shooting whatever caught my eye. First time using a lense with a fixed focal length. Took some getting used to shooting without any zoom capabilities 😊 Anyhow, I was approached by this South African guy who asked me if I could take his picture. He wanted to send it home to his mother. After a few impromptu shots, I realized the dude would not smile, after a little social interaction we managed to get one. Ended up having a long chat on the bench after. Everyone has a story, and they say a picture is worth a thousand words……………

About edmooneyphotography

Photographer, Blogger, Ruinhunter, with an unhealthy obsession for history, mythology and the arcane.
This entry was posted in People, Photography, Street Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words.

  1. Darlene says:

    Looks like you got him to smile. Not always easy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. noelleg44 says:

    Love that smile!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mariezhuikov says:

    I usually do landscapes. Was tempted today to take a photo of an actual person. I did it from afar. Did not speak with the person, but when I walked back past the person later, he spoke to me. If I had been brave, I would have asked to take his photo close up, but I was chicken. Maybe some other day I will be brave. Bravo for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well done you. It feels kinda awkward to begin with. Keep it up, it should get easier. I think when i get a 50mm prime, ill try harder to sbhjoot more peple on the street. Maybe try looking out for street performers to get started?

      Like

Leave a comment