Rework Wednesday 28

After the War

Sml Text

This was one of those images that you see in your head before it actually happens. An old General, Warrior, Hero, surveying the bloodshed after the battle. A field full of broken, shattered corpses, the wounded dying, and for what? To settle an argument? Whatever your thoughts are on the subject, I had always wanted to capture this image, and the opportunity came along at a Viking re-enactment a few months ago up in Dublin. I was amazed that I managed to get the old warrior with his back turned to me as if he was overlooking what had happened on the battlefield. I have actually avoided working on this shot as I didn’t want to make a mess of it. Thankfully it has worked out just the way I wanted. You can check out the original shot HERE with the rest of my shots from the day. I hope you like it 🙂

For these and more of my images, why not visit my Website or join me on Facebook or Twitter.

 

 

About edmooneyphotography

Photographer, Blogger, Ruinhunter, with an unhealthy obsession for history, mythology and the arcane.
This entry was posted in Photography, Re-work Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Rework Wednesday 28

  1. Dawnasong says:

    Fantastic shot! & story.

    Like

  2. That is a great shot. Don’t you love it when you’re able to capture exactly what you had in mind? It happens so rarely for me.

    Like

  3. Robyn G says:

    This re-enactment shot is fascinating Ed… Really draws you in!! Fantastic.
    How good is it, that what you had visualised, actually happened ( without the bloodshed).

    Like

  4. Mary Michelle Scott says:

    I have always loved shooting re-enactments here in the States, but would really love to see a Viking re-enactment, how cool!! Very nice work on the image, it turned out fantastic. I am going to definitely check out the rest of your images.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rob Tobin says:

    Great perspective Ed

    Like

  6. Excellent interpretation and processing !

    Like

  7. Another worthy rework!

    Like

  8. Great processing Ed! A festival like this would be well worth planning a trip for as I love these things. We have Renaissance faires over here in the states. Some of them are good while other’s not so great. There are quite a few places that do one every year. It’s been awhile since going to one but I’m hoping sometime soon as I always enjoy them.

    Like

    • Thanks Justin, I have heard about them alright, before my kids came along I used to do quite a few of these shows every year as a combatant. Plenty of fighting and drinking, the medieval way, always a blast 🙂

      Like

  9. lyonsroarforgod says:

    Stark, ponderous, weighty, full of thought….amazing work! 🙂

    Like

  10. memorypearls says:

    The man with his back to the camera is evocative. Great photo.

    Like

Leave a comment