Carrick Castle – Monochrome Madness Challenge

Carrick Castle

For this weeks challenge I’m taking you back to 2013 and the picturesque ruins of Carrick Castle also known as Mac Feorais Castle. I was still shooting in colour back then and had only began to dabble in mono-tone. What you see today are the ruins of a 16th century castle, which had been built upon the site of an earlier fortification. It was built by the De Bermingham’s whom controlled much of the surrounded area after the O’Connor’s, the native Irish clan had been forced out during the Norman invasion. There is no mention of when or why the family name changed to MacFeorais, but the feud between the O’Connor’s and De Berminghams continued for many centuries. There are still many fine examples of De Bermingham castles to be seen in the area, such as Kinefad, Carbury, and Blundell Castle. So if you are into Black & White photography as much as I am, then I highly recommend that you head on over to Leanne Cole’s blog where you can either contribute your own B&W images or view the images of some really good photographers. The Challenge goes live later today depending on your time zone 🙂

For these and more of my images, why not visit my Website or join me on Facebook or Twitter.

About edmooneyphotography

Photographer, Blogger, Ruinhunter, with an unhealthy obsession for history, mythology and the arcane.
This entry was posted in Monochrome Madness Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Carrick Castle – Monochrome Madness Challenge

  1. Ali Isaac says:

    Wow Ed it really stands out off the page… quite spectacular!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jamie says:

    What a beautiful place!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As always, your photography transports me into every ballad and dream of ancient things I ever had. Nice job, Ed!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this Ed. Great atmosphere!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rob Tobin says:

    Ed, I’ve taken a leaf out of your book and submitted an image to Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Madness.thanks for the link RT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment