Tully’s Castle

DSC_5221

I found this tower in the middle of Clondalkin, but its history remains quite elusive. With Clondalkin being famous for its monastic settlement there is very little recorded on this find. Known locally as Tully’s Castle and named after a previous owner this is all that remains of the 16th century tower house. As Clondalkin rests on the outskirts of Dublin it was possibly one of a number of such fortifications built around the town.

DSC_5215

The “Journal of the Royal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland 1899” gives the following information: The name “Castle of Clondalkin”’ is applied to Tully’s Castle in a number of late eighteenth and early nineteenth century leases, which deal with a place called “The Sheepus”. The Castle was occupied for many years by a family named Tully. […] Since 1761 there has been no great change in [its]appearance. The Sheepus in these leases is referred to as … “ nearly adjoining the Castle of Clondalkin”.

DSC_5209

The Borough of Clondalkin was ruled by a Corporation and Bailiff. In 1276 Robert Beg held this position and one John De St. Peter came from the City with five horsemen and fifteen infantry to help him resist attack. The increase in trade in the area also led to the appointment of a Weighmaster. The Clondalkin castles were constructed during this period as outposts of the Pale. One was at Moyle Park while the other two guarded the entrance to the village. Only Tully’s Castle remains today. The tower now resides as part of a front wall to a private property.

DSC_5199

For more of my images, why not visit my Website,or follow me on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter.

About edmooneyphotography

Photographer, Blogger, Ruinhunter, with an unhealthy obsession for history, mythology and the arcane.
This entry was posted in Castles, Diary of a Ruinhunter, Historical, Photography, Places of Interest and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tully’s Castle

  1. My Tropical Home says:

    These are beautiful! I love B&W and I love “old places”. Thanks for the visit to my blog. I’m enjoying yours.
    Regards,
    Mary

    Like

  2. Kavita Joshi says:

    awesome shots dear

    Like

  3. Awesome blog Ed, which is why I nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogging Award 🙂 (See details at Awesome blog Geoff, which is why I’ve nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogging Award – see (http://marketing4photographers.com/2013/05/04/the-super-sweet-blogging-award/) for details. Cheers, Melanie

    Like

  4. Stunning, I just love your black and white images.

    Like

  5. Great B&W images!
    -Steve

    Like

  6. Sanjana says:

    lovely clicks! Love the black and white!
    I find castles hauntingly beautiful! Stayed in one in Bordeaux and was terrified of ghosts! 😛

    Like

  7. Beautiful images; I love the haunted, timeless feel. And, I also enjoy learning about places where I’ve never been – yet. Thank you!

    Like

  8. anneedgar says:

    I would love to visit these places someday, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  9. gregg says:

    Enjoyed the black and whites of the castles nice !

    Like

Leave a comment