Ballymount Castle

The Tower House

This visit really brought back memories, I had not been here in probably 15 years. Having spent many a summer’s day roaming and exploring the ruins which looked a lot different from how they appear today. The area was excavated on three separate occasions, before the Luas line was built straight through the centre of the site.

Ballymount Castle by Gabriel Beringer

A copy of a painting by Gabriel Beranger from 1767 shows how the Castle one stood. Known locally as ‘Kingswood Castle’ the ruins of Ballymount Castle are found within the grounds of Ballymount Park to the west of the M50 motorway. Ballymount park is named after the town land given to it by Sir William Parsons who build the second castle in the area in 1622.

Remains of Wall

View inside the Tower

On the north side of the park, there is a mound which is a bronze age site and was turned into a motte-and-bailey before a stone castle was built, this was under and in-side the walls of the tower house built by Parsons. In the early 18th century Ballymount Great became home to Mr. John Butler, son of Sir Theobald Butler, Solicitor General Ireland to James II.

Bronze Age Burial Mound

John Butlers Folly

It is John Butler who is reputed to have built the folly (sham ruin) as a venue for his daughter’s wedding and to view the walled garden, however it seems that this was never completed.  The original name given to the area was Bellamount (beautiful mount) in reference to the pre-existing mound (Bronze Age grave).

Entrance to Underground Cellars

As a result of the civil wars of the 1640s and Parsons forced withdrawal from Ireland. In November 1646, it was reported that ‘Ballemount was burnt by local Gaelic insurgents.

Remains

 At the end of the 18th century the lands of Garranstown and Kingswood merged under the ownership of the Cullen family. The house retained the name Whitehall given to it by Mr. Theo White. In 1865 Andrew Cullen Tynan, father of Katharine Tynan, the poet and writer, inherited the farm from an uncle and her derelict house is adjacent to the park.

For more of my images, why not visit my Website,or follow me on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter.

 

About edmooneyphotography

Photographer, Blogger, Ruinhunter, with an unhealthy obsession for history, mythology and the arcane.
This entry was posted in Historical, Photography, Places of Interest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Ballymount Castle

  1. someday I will visit Ireland… until then I am enjoying your lovely photos. I really love castle ruins and ancient places!

    Like

    • Thank you, i’m glad you enjoy them, Tracking down these old ruins are my guilty pleasure, And they wont be around forever, so i like to capture these places before they disappear for good, watch out for some interesting additions coming real soon,

      Eddie:)

      Like

  2. Pingback: The Dancers | EdMooneyPhotography

  3. kmoser56 says:

    You have fed my wandering spirit. I love seeing your photos and reading your stories. The photographer in me comes out and wants more more more. I made it to Wales a few years ago, and loved shooting. Someday, Dublin.

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Priest House | EdMooneyPhotography

  5. Very interesting and lovely photographs.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Francis says:

    Graffiti on those lovely stones? Shame!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It sure is Francis, well on whats left of them, when I was a little fella,we used to play down here amongst the ruins. But between the arrival of the Luas/tram line and the building of a new park, about 95% of what I once knew is now gone…
      Shame indeed 😦

      Like

  7. I love these places and your photos, but it does upset me to see graffiti on everything, as it seems so senseless. Some of these places look like bats should fly out of them. I also love the shrubbery.

    Like

  8. mdmusingsie says:

    I, too,love mucking about old castle ruins and I’m also dismayed by the graffiti. Sometimes things do not change for the better.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: I’ve only gone and done it again…….. | Ed Mooney Photography

  10. I agree it’s so important to capture historical pieces before they’re gone. There are places from my childhood that have been developed into housing or malls. Places were wilder then, too. Some of the woods I used to haunt years ago in the summer now have civilized trails, loaded with bikes and strollers. The magic of getting lost and found and lost and found is gone.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Evelyn says:

    Does the graffiti bother you Ed ? I have to admit that it really makes me cringe to see someone plaster paint over ancient stones. ARGH ! I appreciate your photographing these sites and so well at that. I don’t suppose they could be persuaded to stop that?
    Looking forward to your photography challenge, by the way !
    The Castle Lady

    Liked by 1 person

    • It sure does Evelyn, many of my posts I actually photoshop it out because I just get annoyed. Just look at the recent attack on the Lia Fail on Tara. I know it has been cleaned up, but if you look closely you can still see the stain marks. Maybe you might sharee some of those gorgeous castles with us for the challenge ??? 🙂

      Like

  12. Pingback: The Dancers | Ed Mooney Photography

Leave a comment